Dominant Side Lab

hands

This time of year is TOUGH in the classroom. ( And all the teachers said AMEN.) Who thought it was a good idea to force you to come back and try to wrangle kids for three solid weeks of instructional time between Thanksgiving and Christmas? Good grief.

I often find myself with odd chunks of time that I don’t know what to do with this time of year. Not really wanting to introduce a brand new unit with 2 days left before the holidays, but also not wanting to stretch the current unit to fit the time we have left. ( Sometimes we’re all just sick of volcanos, Ya Dig?)

I’ve found it to be a great time to squeeze in some review of the basics while giving the kids a break from the go-go-go of the normal semester. One of my favorite things to do are labs- because everyone can use a little scientific method refresher!

This lab is a series of simple tests to help students determine which side of their body is dominant. It’s quick, gets kids out of their seats, walks them through the scientific method, and (my favorite feature) requires essentially NO set-up.

The link above is to my TPT store. Hope this helps you survive until the holidays 🙂

Leave a comment