DNA Replication Lab

I LOVE TEACHING BIOLOGY.

Seriously. It is so exciting. Kids are so interested in biology- which is such a fun change from having to force them to love math along with me. I find in general I don’t have to do much to excite kids about what we’re talking about, but every now in then it’s still fun to throw in something exciting to switch it up.

And what’s more fun than making models? Making models with…..CANDY!!

Our Supplies :)

Our Supplies 🙂

 

This is a really easy “lab” activity to set up with your kids, and when you are discussing things like DNA replication, that they can’t touch in real life it’s nice to have a sweet replacement! Here’s how it went down…

The kids came in and I had set up a station for each of them  with toothpicks, wax paper and 4 different types of marshmallows. ( Forgive the combo of ghosts and ice cream cones- I don’t know WHY they don’t make different colored marshmallows with 4 color options. I’m pretty sure teachers are the only ones who buy those anyway)

I did this around halloween... 4 types or mallows for 4 protein bases!

I did this around halloween… 4 types or mallows for 4 protein bases!

I passed out there labs which is available here 🙂 DNA Lab Discussed how candy can relate to DNA and then they went for it!!!

IMG_0879

Mid-Building

Mid-Building

 

First they built a strand of DNA…

Perfect double helix!

Perfect double helix!

Then they unzipped it….

IMG_0884

Then they replicated it!!!!

DNA Mid-Replication!

DNA Mid-Replication!

One thought on “DNA Replication Lab

Leave a comment